Yokohama F·Marinos win the 2022 Meiji Yasuda J1 League!

Yokohama F·Marinos win the 2022 Meiji Yasuda J1 League!

Yokohama F·Marinos are the 2022 Meiji Yasuda J1 League champions!

The Tricolor clinched the title with a win on Saturday, topping Vissel Kobe, 3-1, on the final day of the season to capture the crown over challengers Kawasaki Frontale. Marinos finished the season two points clear of Frontale, who were in search of their third consecutive championship.

Marinos started the season slowly, winning just one of their first five matches, but were untouchable from that point forward. The Tricolor won 11 of 13 matches from April 10 to July 6, surging to the top of the table and taking command of the league.

Léo Ceará established himself as one of the best forwards in Japan, while the likes of Kota Mizunuma, Anderson Lopes, Élber, and Takuma Nishimura rounded out the most fearsome attack in the league. At the same time, Kevin Muscat organized a rock solid defense, making the Tricolor a mighty force on both ends of the pitch.

Marinos claim the title not only with the best results in the league, but also the most goals scored and fewest goals conceded. It has been nothing short of a spectacular and dominant season for the men from Yokohama.

The title marks Marinos’ first since 2019 and fifth Meiji Yasuda J.League title overall, giving them the second-most championships in the history of the J.League and the modern history of Japanese professional football.

With the job done in Kobe, the party is now on in Yokohama!