Sekine, Ideguchi amongst New Hero Award leaders

Sekine, Ideguchi amongst New Hero Award leaders

The J.League on Monday announced the current voting results of the 2016 J.League YBC Levain Cup New Hero Award.

Voting results following the conclusion of the quarterfinals saw eight new players enter the Top 12, including three from semi-finalists Gamba Osaka, two from FC Tokyo, and one each from Urawa Reds and Yokohama F. Marinos.

The award, which recognizes the tournament’s top player under the age of 23 years old, will be determined by a selection committee including league chairman Mitsuru Murai. 

The committee will base its deliberations on votes submitted by attending Japanese media.

New Hero Award - Top 12
(Players not listed in voting order)

MF Takahiro Sekine (Urawa Reds)
MF Ataru Esaka (Omiya Ardija)
MF Mateus (Omiya Ardija)
DF Sei Muroya (FC Tokyo)
MF Shoya Nakajima (FC Tokyo)
FW Cayman Togashi (Yokohama F. Marinos)
DF Ryoma Ishida (Jubilo Iwata)
MF Yosuke Ideguchi (Gamba Osaka)
FW Ademilson (Gamba Osaka)
FW Hiroto Goya (Gamba Osaka)
MF Yuya Nakasaka (Vissel Kobe)
DF Takehiro Tomiyasu (Avispa Fukuoka)