Schedule for Emperor’s Cup opening rounds announced

Schedule for Emperor’s Cup opening rounds announced

The Japan Football Association on Monday announced the schedule for the opening three rounds of the 96th Emperor’s Cup.

All 40 teams from the J1 and J2 Leagues will be joined by collegiate champions Kansai Gakuin University as well as 47 prefectural representatives in the single-elimination knockout tournament, which concludes on January 1 at Suita Stadium.

Promoted sides Jubilo Iwata and Avispa Fukuoka will participate from the first round on August 27-28, with 12 other J1 clubs joining the second round on September 3 and 7.  

AFC Champions League participants Sanfrecce Hiroshima, Gamba Osaka, Urawa Reds, and FC Tokyo are seeded directly to the Round of 16.