J.League Logo

New Hero Award battle heats up

New Hero Award battle heats up

The J.League on Monday announced the current leaders in 2017 J.League YBC Levain Cup New Hero Award voting following five rounds of the tournament’s group stage.

Nine out of 10 players from the first announcement, including Jubilo Iwata striker Koki Ogawa, Vegalta Sendai defender Takumi Sasaki and Kashiwa Reysol midfielder Kohei Tezuka, remained on the list.

The only new addition was Vissel Kobe defender So Fujitani, who displaced Omiya Ardija mid-fielder Atsushi Kurokawa.

Voting for the award, which recognises the tournament’s top player under the age of 23, is con-ducted by local media covering the tournament. The winner will be announced before the Novem-ber 4 final at Saitama Stadium 2002.

The sixth round of the Group Stage will take place on Wednesday, May 24, with round-robin play concluding one week later.

[New Hero Award - Mid-Stage Top 10 (After Round 5)]

FW Daiki Suga (Hokkaido Consadole Sapporo)
MF Takumi Sasaki (Vegalta Sendai)
MF Keiya Shiihashi (Vegalta Sendai)
DF So Fujitani (Vissel Kobe)
MF Kohei Tezuka (Kashiwa Reysol)
MF Shoya Nakajima (FC Tokyo)
FW Koki Ogawa (Jubilo Iwata)
MF Yuya Nakasaka (Vissel Kobe)
MF Tsukasa Morishima (Sanfrecce Hiroshima)
FW Kyosuke Tagawa (Sagan Tosu)

* Players not listed by votes received

Back to top button on normal stateBack to top button on hover state