J.League Logo

Kobayashi takes J.League MVP prize as sixth player to earn “double”

Kobayashi takes J.League MVP prize as sixth player to earn “double”

The 2017 J.League Awards took place on Tuesday night at Yokohama Arena, recognising this season’s top players, managers, referees, and clubs.

Kawasaki Frontale striker Yu Kobayashi was named the J.League Most Valuable Player, becoming the second straight recipient from the club after Kengo Nakamura in 2016. Kobayashi is also the sixth J.League player to win MVP and Golden Boot honors in the same season.

Seven players were named to the league’s Best XI for the first time: Kashiwa Reysol goalkeeper Kosuke Nakamura, Kashima Antlers defender Daigo Nishi, Kawasaki Frontale defenders Elsinho and Shintaro Kurumata, Gamba Osaka midfielder Yosuke Ideguchi, Urawa Reds striker Shinzo Koroki and Cerezo Osaka striker Kenyu Sugimoto. They were joined by Kobayashi, Kengo Nakamura and Cerezo midfielder Hotaru Yamaguchi.

Kashiwa Reysol defender Yuta Nakayama was named the league’s Best Young Player, while seven clubs in each league shared the Fair Play Award.

Frontale’s Toru Oniki was named Manager of the Year, with Cerezo Osaka’s Yoon Jong-hwan, Shonan Bellmare’s Cho Kwi-jea, and Blaublitz Akita’s Koichi Sugiyama also recognized for their coaching achievements.

Back to top button on normal stateBack to top button on hover state