Groups determined for ACL participants

Groups determined for ACL participants

Following Sunday’s Emperor’s Cup final, the groups for Japan’s representatives in the 2017 AFC Champions League have been determined.

Kashima Antlers, Urawa Reds, and Kawasaki Frontale will participate directly from the group stage.

Meanwhile, 2008 champions Gamba Osaka will begin their campaign on February 7 in a one-game playoff.

The group stage begins on Tuesday, February 21.

Group E:

Kashima Antlers
Muangthong United (Thailand)
Playoff 4 Winner
Playoff 1 Winner

Group F:

FC Seoul (South Korea)
Urawa Reds
Western Sydney Wanderers (Australia)
Playoff 3 Winner

Group G:

Guangzhou Evergrande (China)
Suwon Bluewings (South Korea)
Kawasaki Frontale
Eastern SC (Hong Kong)

Group H:

Adelaide United (Australia)
Jiangsu Suning (China)
Jeonbuk Hyundai (South Korea)
Playoff 2 Winner (Gamba United vs. Bangkok United or Johor Darul Ta’zim)