ACL spots determined for Championship finalists

ACL spots determined for Championship finalists

Sanfrecce Hiroshima will be joined by Gamba Osaka and the winners of the Emperor’s Cup in the group stage of the 2016 AFC Champions League.

Hajime Moriyasu’s men were crowned winners of the 2015 J.League Championship on Saturday following a 4-3 aggregate win over Gamba.

In accordance with these results, the seedings of Japan’s Champions League representatives, with the exception of the winners of the Emperor’s Cup, have been determined.

Sanfrecce and Gamba Osaka will progress directly to the group stages by virtue of their winners’ and runners’ up statuses in the J.League championship. 

They will be joined there by the 2015 Emperor’s Cup winners who will declared in January, while third-placed MEIJI YASUDA J1 League team Urawa Reds will enter the competition from the third round play-off.

Should Sanfrecce, Gamba or the Reds win the Emperor’s Cup, the latter will participate right from the group stage, while FC Tokyo will replace them in the third round play-off.

The draw for the 2016 AFC Champions League group stages will take place on December 10 at 17:00 JST.